The Sign of the Four (by Arthur Conan Doyle)

The story is set in 1888. The Sign of the Four has a complex plot involving service in India, the Indian Rebellion of 1857, a stolen treasure, and a secret pact among four convicts (“the Four” of the title) and two corrupt prison guards. It presents the detective’s drug habit and humanizes him in a way that had not been done in the preceding novel, A Study in Scarlet (1887). It also introduces Doctor Watson’s future wife, Mary Morstan.

Play Chapter 1

Play Chapter 2

Play Chapter 3

Play Chapter 4

Play Chapter 5

Play Chapter 6

Play Chapter 7

Play Chapter 8

Play Chapter 9

Play Chapter 10

Play Chapter 11

Play Chapter 12